Alps Art Academy

APPLICATION

Facebook Instagramm

Terms of Participation

From June 28 to July 7, 2018, the 2nd international Alps Art Academy will take place in the Safiental (Grisons, Switzerland). The Tenna Summer Academy, which is held every two years, focuses on land and environmental art.
In dialogue with the art-historical movement of the 60s and 70s, contemporary approaches to art in the Alpine landscape are discussed and further developed. The Alps Art Academy creates a platform for proposals for a possible future Land Art, which integrates the landscape, nature and the environment as well as history and society into its production.
Around 25 to 30 participants can apply to participate in the summer academy with a specific project idea, portfolio and letter of motivation.

Fees
CHF 1200.-, USD 1200.-, EUR 1000.- (10 days academy, room and board, excursions during the academy’s session), excluding travel expenses. For participants who need financial support it is possibile to apply for a scholarship.

Stipendium
The academy is committed to a broad mix of participants (age, gender, origin) and lower-income applicants can apply for a reduction of the fee and / or a travel scholarship up to a maximum of 100%. In addition to the regular documents, applicants should provide a letter of justification with the application form (DE or EN, maximum 600 characters).

Requirements
In general, a motivation for participatory work in the Alpine region in an international setting is a prerequisite. The competition is aimed equally and without age limit at artists who are interested in working with landscape and the environment, as well as theoreticians, mediators, and curators, engaged in research on the topic of land and environmental art. Applicants must be at least 18 years old at the time of the call for submissions.
Interested parties should apply with a project idea (practice, theory, mediation), which can be feasibly executed during the period the Academy is in session. It is not mandatory that this project be implemented, however, applicants are selected and assigned to one of the workshops / coaches.

Application Documents
To be submitted
1) Completed application form. In addition to contact information for the applicant, this should also include information on the applicant’s language skills (English is required), CV (DE or EN, max 3500 characters) and motivation letter (DE or EN, max 2000 characters). When applying for a scholarship you must also provide an explanation (DE or EN, max 600 characters).
2) Project proposal (DE or EN, max 3500 characters)
3) Portfolio (DE or EN, max 10 pages)

Jury
A panel consisting of lecturers and the artistic director of the Alps Art Academy selects the participants and assigns them to one of the workshops according to their previous knowledge, inclinations and wishes.

Selection Criteria
The criteria for awarding a place on the course are the quality of the project idea and motivation. The choice of scholarships will take into account a broad mix of participants (age, gender, background) and financial urgency.

Application
Please  send the complete application documents (application form, project idea, portfolio) in English or German as a single PDF file (max 8 MB) by 25.3.2018 (for Theory + Art Education until 4.4.2018)
to: info@alpsartacademy.ch

Deadline
Applications can be made from January 2018, and the deadline for submissions is Sunday, March 25. (for Theory + Art Education until 4.4.2018) Subsequent or incomplete submissions will not be considered.

Notification / Payment
All selected participants will be sent notification by email latest by  April 15 2018. Selected candidates must agree to transfer the participation fee to the Alps Art Academy within 30 days (by 15.5.18). If your deposit has not reached us by April 15, 2018 the commitment will be forfeited and the place will be passed on to a candidate on the waiting list. From 15.5 2018, any places still open will be re-assigned.
After receipt of payments, the names of the participants will be published on the website (from 15 May 2018).

FAQ – Frequently Asked Questions
See here

T&Cs – Terms and Conditions
See here

Organisation
Sponsorship / operated by: Verein Naturpark Beverin
Artistic Direction: Johannes M. Hedinger; Organisation: Jolanda Rechsteiner

Contact / Further information
For further information please contact the academy by email at:
organisation@alpsartacademy.ch

Alps Art Academy

BEWERBUNG

Facebook Instagramm

Teilnahmebedingungen

Vom 28. Juni – 7. Juli 2018 findet im Safiental (Graubünden, Schweiz) die zweite internationale Alps Art Academy statt. Der Fokus der alle zwei Jahre veranstalteten Sommerakademie in Tenna liegt auf Land und Environmental Art. Im Dialog mit der kunsthistorischen Bewegung der 60- und 70er Jahre werden zeitgenössische Kunstansätze im alpinen Landschaftsraum verortet, diskutiert und weiterentwickelt. Die Alps Art Academy schafft eine Plattform für Vorschläge einer möglichen nächsten Land Art, die neben Landschaft und Natur auch die Umwelt, Geschichte und die Gesellschaft in die Produktion einbinden.
Rund 25 bis 30 TeilnehmerInnen können sich mit einer spezifischen Projektidee, Portfolio und Motivationsschreiben für eine Teilnahme an der Sommerakademie bewerben.

Kosten
CHF 1200.-, USD 1200.-, EUR 1000.- (10 Tage Akademie, Zimmer und Verpflegung, Exkursionen während er Akademie), exklusive Anreisekosten. Für Teilnehmende, die finanzielle Unterstützung benötigen, gibt es die Möglichkeit sich um ein Stipendium zu bewerben. 

Stipendium
Die Akademie setzt sich für eine breite Mischung von TeilnehmerInnen ein (Alter, Geschlecht, Herkunft), weshalb für einkommensschwächere BewerberInnen die Möglichkeit besteht sich für eine Reduktion der Akademiegebühr und/oder der Reisekosten bis maximal 100% zu bewerben. Hierfür reichen sie zusätzlich zu den regulären Bewerbungsunterlagen eine Begründung auf dem Bewerbungsformular ein (DE oder EN, max. 600 Zeichen).

Vorraussetzungen
Allgemein ist die Motivation für ein partizipatives Arbeiten im Alpenraum in einem internationalen Setting Vorraussetzung. Die Ausschreibung richtet sich gleichermassen und ohne Altersbegrenzung an Kunstschaffende, die sich für die Arbeit mit Landschaft und Umwelt interessieren, sowie TheoretikerInnen, VermittlerInnen und KuratorInnen, die zum Thema Land und Environemental Art forschen. Bewerber/innen müssen zum Zeitpunkt der Ausschreibung mindesten 18 Jahre alt sein.
Die Interessenten bewerben sich mit einer Projektidee (Praxis, Theorie, Vermittlung), die im Zeitraum der Akademie realisierbar ist. Es ist nicht zwingend, dass genau dieses Projekt umgesetzt wird, die BewerberInnen werden jedoch danach ausgewählt und einem der Workshops/Coaches zugeordnet.

Bewerbungsunterlagen
Einzureichen sind
1) vollständig ausgefülltes Bewerbungsformular. Dies beinhaltet neben den Kontaktinformationen zur Person auch Angaben zu Sprachkenntnissen (Englisch ist Vorraussetzung), CV (DE oder EN, max. 3500 Zeichen) und Motivationsschreiben (DE oder EN, max. 2000 Zeichen). Bei Beantragung eines Stipendiums ist zusätzlich eine Begründung (DE oder EN, max. 600 Zeichen) mitzuliefern.
2) Projektvorschlag (DE oder EN, max. 3500 Zeichen)
3) Portfolio (DE oder EN, max. 10 Seiten)

Jury
Ein Gremium, bestehend aus Dozierenden und dem künstlerischen Leiter der Alps Art Academy wählt die Teilnehmenden aus und teilt diese entsprechend ihrer Vorkenntnisse, Neigungen und Wünsche einem der Workshops zu.

Auswahlkriterien
Kriterien für die Vergabe eines Akademieplatzes sind Qualität der Projektidee und Motivation. Bei der Auswahl der Vergabe der Stipendien wird eine breite Mischung der TeilnehmerInnen (Alter, Geschlecht, Herkunft) berücksichtigt sowie finanzielle Dringlichkeit.

Bewerbung
Die vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen (Bewerbungsformular, Projektidee, Portfolio) schicken Sie bitte in Deutsch oder Englisch als eine gesammelte PDF-Datei (max 8 MB) bis spätesten zum 25.3.2018 (für Theorie + Art Education bis 4.4.2018) an: info@alpsartacademy.ch

Bewerbungsfrist
Die Einreichfrist be­ginnt ab Januar 2018, und endet am Mittwoch, 25.3.2018 (für Theorie + Art Education bis 4.4.2018).  Spätere oder unvollständige Einreichungen werden nicht berücksichtig.

Benachrichtigung / Bezahlung
Alle Bewerber werden bis 15.4.18 per Email über die Aufnahmen und die allfällige Zusprechung eines Stipendiums benachrichtigt. Die ausgewählten Kandidaten müssen innerhalb 30 Tage (bis 15.5.18) die in der Zusage vereinbarte Teilnahmegebühr an die Alps Art Academy überweisen. Nach Eingang ihrer Zahlungen werden die Namen dieser Teilnehmer auf der Website veröffentlicht.
Sollte uns ihre Einzahlung nicht bis zum 15.5.2018 erreicht haben, verfällt die Zusage auf Teilnahme und wird an einen Kandidaten der Warteliste weitergeben. Ab 15.5. 2018 werden die noch offen Plätze neu vergeben.

FAQ – Frequently Asked Questions
Siehe hier

AGB – Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen
Siehe hier

Organisation
Trägerschaft: Verein Naturpark Beverin
Künstlerische Leitung: Johannes M. Hedinger; Organisation: Jolanda Rechsteiner 

Kontakt / weitere Informationen
Bei Rückfragen wenden Sie sich bitte per Email an
organisation@alpsartacademy.ch