Alps Art Academy

Biographien

Facebook Instagramm

Biographien

FACULTY

 

PastedGraphic-1

Badel/Sarbach (CH)
Jérémie Sarbach (CH) und Flurina Badel (CH) arbeiten seit 2014 im Duo. Jérémie Sarbach absolvierte den Bachelor of Fine Arts am Institut Kunst HGK FHNW in Basel und an der Cooper Union, New York City. Danach absolvierte er den Master in Critical Studies an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Wien und in Fine Arts am Institut Kunst HGK FHNW Basel. Flurina Badel arbeitete als Dokumentarfilmerin, absolvierte den Master of Fine Arts am Institut Kunst der HGK FHNW Basel und studierte Sprachkunst an der Universität für angewandte Kunst in Wien. Badel/Sarbach wurde unter anderem mit dem Manor Kunstpreis 2019 ausgezeichnet und für den Medienkunstpreis Basel-Stadt/Basel-Land nominiert. 2020 wurde Badel mit dem Schweizer Literaturpreis für den Lyrikband «tinnitus tropic» ausgezeichnet. www.badelsarbach.com

Laura Bodenmann

Laura Bodenmann (CH)
Laura Bodenmann studierte Szenografie an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste und macht nun ebenda den Master in Curatorial Studies. Ihre künstlerische Praxis bewegt sich zwischen Räumen und den Menschen darin. Sie arbeitet als Szenografin, Künstlerin, Designerin, Performerin und Köchin. In all diesen Feldern verfolgt sie das kollaborative Arbeiten und was entstehen kann, wenn unterschiedliche Menschen zusammenkommen.

 

 

portraet_gg_lb

Gabriela Gerber / Lukas Bardill (CH)
Gabriela Gerber studierte Fine Arts an der Hochschule für Kunst und Gestaltung Zürich. Lukas Bardill absolvierte das Studium für Kunst und Mediendesign an der F+F Schule Zürich sowie den MAS Kunst und Gestaltung an der Universität Bern. Seit 1997 arbeiten sie zusammen. Sie leben im voralpinen Raum des Prättigaus. Neben klassischen Ausstellungsformen im institutionellen Rahmen agieren sie mit ihren Projekten auch in profanen Umgebungen, zum Beispiel in nicht mehr gebrauchten Ställen, militärischen Ortskampfanlagen oder in einem stillgelegten Strassentunnel. Ihre Werke wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet: Swiss Art Award (2004), Manor Kunstpreis (2006), Kulturpreis der Stiftung Anny Casty-Sprecher (2017), Jurypreis der Biennale Weiertal, Winterthur (2017), SAC-Kunstpreis (2020). Die Galerie Luciano Fasciati in Chur vertritt die Künstler seit 2005. www.bardillgerber.ch

Portrait_20170116_GrauFabian Gutscher (CH)
Fabian Gutscher Musiker und Medienkünstler. Studium an der Hochschule der Künste Bern (bis 2008), Abschluss 2017 in Transdisziplinarität. Gast-Dozent am Y-Institut der HKB. Er musiziert live mittels selbstgebauten digitalen Interfaces und Installationen. Er betätigt sich als Komponist und Sounddesigner für Film, Tanz und Theater. 2015 Teilnahme am transkulturellen Programm des Connecting Spaces, Hong Kong. Gründer von „Institute Movement“, 2016 Performer und Musiker bei „Pretext Quartett“ in Kooperation mit Choreografen Ivanhoe Lam Chun Ho. Sein „Synchronisator-Projekt“ verbindet seit 2016 Gehende auf der ganzen Welt. Zwischen 2008 und 2014 hat er für diverse Theatermacher die Klangwelt gestaltet, darunter Lukas Bangerter, Mario Portmann, Nater/Glatthard/Bachmann und Bernhard Mikeska und war Mitglied der Formation pulp.noir. http://fabiangutscher.ch

Screenshot 2020-01-29 at 13.38.29Hanna Hölling (UK/CH)
Hanna B. Hölling ist Associate im Fachbereich Kunstgeschichte des University College London, wo sie für das Programm Kunstgeschichte, Materialien und Technologien berufen wurde.  Zudem ist sie Forschungsprofessorin für Materiality in Art and Culture an der Universität der Künste Bern, wo sie wissenschaftliche Projekte leitet, die von dem Schweitzer Nationalfonds unterstütz werden. Zu ihren Büchern gehören Paik’s Virtual Archive: Time, Change and Materiality on Media Art  (University of California Press, 2017), Revisions – Zen for Film (Bard, 2015), eine Anthologie The Explicit Material: Inquiries on the Intersection of Curatorial and Conservation Cultures (Brill 2019, mit F. Bewer und K. Ammann), und Object—Event—Performance (Bard Graduate Center, 2022). Sie ist Leiterin der Theorie am ILEA und seit 2016 Facultymitglied bei der Alps Art Academy. www.hannahoelling.com

Kaspar König (CH)
Kaspar König ist seit seinem Design-Abschluss an der UDK in Berlin 2002, und seinem Klangkunst und Kompositions-Abschluss an der HfM in Mainz als freischaffender Gestalter, Komponist und Klangkünstler tätig. Sein Hintergrund als diplomierter Designer& Klangkünstler ist in seinen erfundenen Instrumenten und Sound Installationen sicht- und hörbar. www.kasparkoenig.com

 

 

 

saschaSascha Skraban (CH)
Geboren in Schaffhausen (CH). Gelernter Koch. Nach mehreren Jahren in verschiedenen Zürcher Restaurants und Caterings führt Sascha seit mehr als 3 Jahren die Küche des Berghotel Alpenblicks in Tenna. Seit 2021 ist er Geschäftsführer des Berghotels Alpenblick.

 

 

 

 

LEITUNG

 

Johannes M. Hedinger (CH), Direktor, Gesamtleitung
Hedinger ist Kurator, Kunstwissenschaftler, Künstler, Autor und Dozent. Leiter des Institute for Land and Environmental Art (ILEA) und künstlerischer Leiter der Biennale ART SAFIENTAL.
Studium der Kunst an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) und University of Los Angeles (UCLA); Studium der Kunstgeschichte an der Universität Zürich und Humboldt-Universität Berlin, Nachdiplomstudien an der Universität der Künste Berlin (UdK). Seit 2006 Dozent an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK), seit 2010 Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität zu Köln.
Hedinger ist Herausgeber und Autor von: LANDSCAPE #1 (2020), What’s Next? Kunst nach der Krise (2013) und Lexikon zur zeitgenössischen Kunst (2010), Kunst, öffentlicher Raum, Identität (2004). Jüngste kuratorische Arbeiten umfassen die Biennale Art Safiental (seit 2016),  Methods of Art (Ural Biennale 2015, Connecting Space Hong Kong 2015) und Point de Suisse (Museum für Geschichte Basel 2015). Hedingers künstlerische Arbeit wurde vor allem bekannt als Teil des Kunstkollektives Com&Com (mit Marcus Gossolt). Teilnahme an neun Biennalen (Venedig, Shanghai, Singapur, Sharjah, Moskau, Ural, Turin), Einzelausstellungen u. a. im Kunsthaus Zürich, Kunstwerke Berlin und Knockdown Center New York. www.johanneshedinger.com

 

Jolanda Rechsteiner (CH), Administrative Leitung
diplomierte Tourismusfachfrau HF, verfügt über langjährige Berufserfahrung im Tourismus und Marketing. Seit Juni 2012 ist sie Geschäftsleiterin von Safiental Tourismus und für die touristische Entwicklung, mit Fokus auf den natur- und kulturnahen Tourismus im Safiental verantwortlich. Sie hat die operative Leitung der Alps Art Academy inne und koordiniert die Produktion der Installationen der Biennale Art Safiental seit 2016.
www.safiental.ch/tourismus

 

 

Mirja Busch (D), Co-Leitung Programm
Künstlerin. Sie studierte Bildende Kunst an der Universität der Bildenden Künste Braunschweig (bis 2006) und Kunsttheorie und Kunstpraxis im Graduiertenprogramm der Universidad de Chile, Santiago de Chile (2008-2009). Sie absolvierte einen dreimonatigen Forschungsaufenthalt im Archiv des ehemaligen CAVS am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2013) zum Thema Land and Environmental Art. Ihre künstlerische Praxis konzentriert sich auf die Materialisierung des Immateriellen und das Einfangen von Hintergrundphänomenen, wie z.B. dem Destillieren von Theorie oder die Archivierung von Pfützen. Seit 2017 arbeitet sie in der Programmleitung und Koordinatorin der ALPS ART ACADEMY, unterstützt die ART SAFIENTAL und ist am Aufbau des ILEA beteiligt. www.mirjabusch.com

sebi nauckSebastian Nauck (CH), Head of workshop/production
gelernter Schreiner, von 2014-2020 im Safiental bei lokaler Zimmerei/Schreinerei tätig. Trainerausbildung Erlebnispädagogik und Outdoortraining (2020). Gründung der OBANplan GmbH (2020, Tenna), um nachhaltige und ökologische Objekte und Projekte zu gestalten.

 

 

 

 

TEAM

 

Claire Geyer (CH), Team
Seit 2022 kuratorische Assistenz Art Safiental und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin ILEA. Ausbildung in Holzbildhauerei. Studium der Kulturwissenschaften an der Universität Lüneburg ( heutige Leuphana), Studium der Typographie und Type (ZHdK), QUEST in Primary Education und Bachelor in Theologie (Universität Luzern). Hat als kuratorische Assistenz in der Kunsthalle St. Gallen sowie im Museum Bellerive Zürich gearbeitet. Seit 2004 in der Kulturvermittlung tätig ua für Museum für Gestaltung und des Museums Bellerive Zürich und Referentin für «Kunst über Mittag» im Kunsthaus zu Werken der Klassischen Moderne für die Migros Klubschule Zürich. Dozentin am Universikum, Zürich.

 

Benedikt Joos (CH), Team

ist im Naturpark Beverin geboren und aufgewachsen. Der diplomierte Hotelier/Res­taurateur HF bringt mehrere Jahre Auslandserfahrung mit und war von 2014 bis 2019 selbst­ständiger Gastronom. Seit 2019 ist er Projektleiter beim Naturpark Beverin und seit 2020 leitet er die administrativen Geschäfte von ILEA und Art Safiental.

 

 

 

urs karli

Urs Karli (CH), Team
In Basel geboren, Studium der Biochemie. 16 Jahre tätig in der Pharmaindustrie(Marketing und Verkauf) 10 Jahre tätig als Spitaldirektor. Seit 3 Jahren beruflich inaktiv. Hobbies: Gleitschirmfliegen und Alpinismus.

 

 

 

 

lenaLena Witschi (CH), Praktikum
aufwachsen in Benin, Bern und Kyrigistan. November 21-Feb 22 Praktikum bei einer Beobachtungsstation für Walhaie in Mafia, Tansania

Alps Art Academy

Biographies

Facebook Instagramm

Biographies

FACULTY

 

PastedGraphic-1

Badel/Sarbach (CH)
Jérémie Sarbach (CH) and Flurina Badel (CH) have been working as a duo since 2014. Jérémie Sarbach completed a Bachelor of Fine Arts at the Institut Kunst HGK FHNW in Basel and at the Cooper Union, New York City. He then completed a Master in Critical Studies at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna and in Fine Arts at the Institut Kunst HGK FHNW Basel. Flurina Badel worked as a documentary filmmaker, completed the Master of Fine Arts at the Institute of Art HGK FHNW Basel and studied Language Arts at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna. Badel/Sarbach was awarded the Manor Art Prize 2019 and nominated for the Media Art Prize Basel-Stadt/Basel-Land, among others. In 2020 Badel was awarded the Swiss Literature Prize for the poetry collection “tinnitus tropic”. www.badelsarbach.com

Laura Bodenmann

Laura Bodenmann (CH)
Laura Bodenmann studied scenography at the Zurich University of the Arts and is now doing a Master in Curatorial Studies. Her artistic practice moves between spaces and the people in them. She works as a scenographer, artist, designer, performer and cook. In all these fields, she pursues collaborative work and what can emerge when different people come together.

 

 

 

portraet_gg_lb

Gabriela Gerber / Lukas Bardill (CH)
Gabriela Gerber studied fine art at the University of Art and Design in Zurich and Lukas Bardill studied art and media design at the F + F School in Zurich and at the University of Bern. Since 1997 they have worked as an artist duo. They live in the pre-Alps of the Prättigau. Beside classical institutional exhibitions they realized projects in different secular environment such as unused stables, military combat installations or abandoned tunnels. Their artwork recived several prizes: Swiss art award (2004), Manor Kunstpreis (2006), Culture Prize of the Anny Casty-Sprecher Foundation (2017), the Jury Prize Biennale Weiertal, Winterthur (2017). 2020 they won the SAC (Swiss Alpin Club) Art Prize. The Gallery Luciano Fasciati Chur represents the artists since 2005. www.bardillgerber.ch

Portrait_20170116_GrauFabian Gutscher (CH)
Fabian Gutscher is a musician and media artist. He studied at the Bern University of the Arts (until 2008), graduated in 2017 in transdisciplinarity. He was a guest lecturer at the Y-Institute of the HKB. Fabian performs live music using self-built digital interfaces and installations. He works as a composer and sound designer for film, dance and theatre. 2015 he participated in the transcultural programme of Connecting Spaces, Hong Kong. Founder of “Institute Movement”, 2016 he was a performer and musician at “Pretext Quartet” in cooperation with choreographer Ivanhoe Lam Chun Ho. His “Synchroniser Project” has been connecting walkers around the world since 2016. Between 2008 and 2014, he designed the soundscape for various theatre makers, including Lukas Bangerter, Mario Portmann, Nater/Glatthard/Bachmann and Bernhard Mikeska, and was a member of the formation pulp.noir. http://fabiangutscher.ch

Screenshot 2020-01-29 at 13.38.29Hanna Hölling (UK/CH)
Hanna B. Hölling is Associate Professor in the Department of History of Art, University College London, where she co-convenes the program History of Art, Materials and Technology. She is also Research Professor, Materiality in Art and Culture, at the University of the Arts Bern, leading research in the areas of her specialism. Her books include Paik’s Virtual Archive: Time, Change and Materiality on Media Art (University of California Press, 2017), Revisions–Zen for Film (Bard, 2015) and two anthologies The Explicit Material: Inquiries on the Intersection of Curatorial and Conservation Cultures (Brill 2019, with F. Bewer and K. Ammann) and Object—Event—Performance (New York: Bard Graduate Center, 2022). With Johannes M. Hedinger, she is the series editor and a co-editor of the first issue of Landscape. She is Head of Theory at ILEA and has been the Alps Art Academy core faculty since 2016. www.hannahoelling.com

Kaspar König (CH)
Kaspar König has been working as a freelance designer, composer and sound artist since his design degree at the UDK in Berlin in 2002 and his sound art and composition degree at the HfM in Mainz. His background as a designer and sound artist is visible and audible in his invented instruments and sound installations. www.kasparkoenig.com

 

 

 

saschaSascha Skraban (CH)
Born in Schaffhausen (CH). Trained chef. After several years in various Zurich restaurants and catering, Sascha has been managing the kitchen of the Berghotel Alpenblick in Tenna for more than 3 years. Since 2021 he is the general manager of the Berghotel Alpenblick.

 

 

 

 

HEAD


Johannes M. Hedinger
(CH), Director, Overall management
Hedinger is a curator, art scholar, artist, author and lecturer. Director of the Institute for Land and Environmental Art (ILEA) and artistic director of the ART SAFIENTAL biennial. Studied art at the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) and University of Los Angeles (UCLA); studied art history at the University of Zurich and Humboldt University Berlin, postgraduate studies at the Berlin University of the Arts (UdK). Since 2006 lecturer at the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK), since 2010 lecturer at the University of Cologne. Hedinger is editor and author of: LANDSCAPE #1 (2020), What’s Next? Art after the Crisis (2013) and Lexicon on Contemporary Art (2010), Art, Public Space, Identity (2004). Recent curatorial work includes the Biennale Art Safiental (2016-present), Methods of Art (Ural Biennale 2015, Connecting Space Hong Kong 2015) and Point de Suisse (Museum für Geschichte Basel 2015). Hedinger’s artistic work became best known as part of the art collective Com&Com (with Marcus Gossolt). Participation in nine biennials (Venice, Shanghai, Singapore, Sharjah, Moscow, Ural, Turin), solo exhibitions at Kunsthaus Zürich, Kunstwerke Berlin and Knockdown Center New York, among others. www.johanneshedinger.com

Jolanda Rechsteiner (CH), Administrative management
qualified tourism specialist HF, has many years of professional experience in tourism and marketing. Since June 2012 she has been the managing director of Safiental Tourism and responsible for tourism development, with a focus on natural and cultural tourism in the Safiental. She is the operational manager of the Alps Art Academy and has coordinated the production of the installations of the Biennale Art Safiental since 2016.
www.safiental.ch/tourismus

 

 

Mirja Busch (D), Co-Director Program
is a visual artist and artistic researcher. She studied Fine Arts at the University of Fine Arts, Braunschweig (until 2006) and Art Theory and Art Practice in the Graduate programme at the Universidad de Chile, Santiago de Chile (2008-2009). Three-month research visit to the archive of the former CAVS at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2013) on Land and Environmental Art. Her artistic practice focuses on the materialization of the immaterial and the rendering of background phenomena, such as distilling theory or archiving puddles. Since 2017 she works in the program management and coordination of the ALPS ART ACADEMY, supports the ART SAFIENTAL and is involved in the development of the ILEA. www.mirjabusch.com

sebi nauckSebastian Nauck (CH), Head of workshop/production
Trained carpenter. From 2014-2020 he worked in the Safiental at a local carpentry/joinery. Coach training in experiential education and outdoor training (2020). He founded OBANplan GmbH (2020, Tenna) to design sustainable and ecological objects and projects.

 

 

 

 

TEAM

 

Claire Geyer (CH), Team
Since 2022 curatorial assistant of Art Safiental and research assistant at ILEA. Training in wood sculpture. Studied Cultural Studies  (University of Lüneburg now Leuphana), typography and type (ZHdK), QUEST in Primary Education and Bachelor in Theology (University of Lucerne). She has worked as a curatorial assistant at Kunsthalle St. Gallen and Museum Bellerive Zurich. Since 2004 she works in cultural education for the Museum für Gestaltung and the Museum Bellerive Zurich and as a lecturer for “Art over Lunch” at the Kunsthaus on works of classical modernism for the Migros Klubschule Zurich. She is a lecturer at the Universikum, Zurich.

 

Benedikt Joos (CH), Team
Benedikt was born and raised in the Naturpark Beverin. He is a qualified hotelier/restaurateur HF with several years of experience abroad and worked as an independent restaurateur from 2014 to 2019. Since 2019 he is project manager at Naturpark Beverin and since 2020 he is in charge of the administrative business of ILEA and Art Safiental biennial.

 

 

 

urs karli

Urs Karli (CH), Team
Born in Basel, he studied biochemistry. 16 years he worked in the pharmaceutical industry (marketing and sales), 10 years as a hospital director. Professionally inactive for 3 years. Hobbies: paragliding and alpinism.

 

 

 

lenaLena Witschi (CH), Intern
Grew up in Benin, Bern and Kyrigistan. Nov 21-Feb 22 Internship at a whale shark observation station in Mafia, Tanzania. Since Feburary intern at ILEA, Art Safiental and Alps Art Academy.