Alps Art Academy

Workshops

Facebook Instagramm

Workshops

MODULE 1: In nine workshops with different contextual and media focal points, participants will work on their own project accompanied by instructors. The participants’ projects can be realized in the direct neighborhood or the landscape around Tenna. There is also a seminar room and a library with specialist literature. At the end of the academy, the participants will present their projects to the staff and other group members.
The participants apply with their own proposal or a concept for a project. On this basis, the jury selects the participants and assigns him or her to an instructor and a workshop. The assignment of instructors and workshops can be revised at a later point if there is a good reason for it. The following options are available:

Workshop I: Environmental: Installation & Sculpture
Mentor: Matthias Bildstein (Bildstein / Glatz) (AT)

Safiental is a special place. You’ll get a chance to learn about the environment up here and start a new work or continue your practice. In this workshop we’ll reflect each others approach in brief meetings parallel to your development. I am curious about your thoughts and work and I‘m looking forward to intense sessions. Together we’ll push art forward.

 

Workshop II: In Wood We Trust
Mentor: Gregory Chapuisat (Les Frères Chapuisat) (CH)

The good old battle between control and letting it go. Protocols, empirical processes and happy accidents. How do we define our choices in the doing?

 

IMG_E3165Workshop III: Landscaping: Mapping the research process
Mentor: Sally De Kunst (CH/BE)

In a research process, mapping allows to pool thematic, practical, individual and collective forms of knowledge. The aim of this workshop is to build the elements of the research spatially, using foraged and other materials, i.e. to position them to highlight and discuss the potential relationships between them. The landscaping model is freely inspired by the Actor-Network Theory developed by Bruno Latour and Michel Callon, among others. This sociological approach takes into account and associates humans and “non-humans” of all kinds, as well as forms of discourse.

 

 

Workshop IV: Hacking Nature
Mentor: Fragmentin (CH)

How could we observe, measure and look at Alpine natural landscape differently through the lense of digital technology? Which new aesthetics could emerge from combining this specific graubünden nature with technological breakthroughs?
Using a bunch of different low & high tech tools, sensors and software, the participants will be invited to explore – with the help of the three artists & programmers of Fragmentin – the rich natural area of Safiental and create something out of it.
The output is relatively free, it could take the form of an object, a sculpture, a piece of software or a performance.
The artist trio will also bring an axidraw pen plotter machine to give the possibility of the participants to create beautiful maps of other topic related drawings.

 

aclatobel_gg_lbWorkshop V: Local Context
Mentor: Gabriela Gerber & Lukas Bardill (CH)

The focus is layed on rural space with its geographical, cultural and social characteristics. The context
as requirement for site specific interventions takes place for scouting in the field, for encounter local
people and to become acquainted with the knowledge of contemporary and historical conditions.
(Aclatobel, Safiental 2018. Fotografie: Gabriela Gerber & Lukas Bardill.)

 

NASA-Apollo8-Dec24-EarthriseWorkshop VI: Theorizing Landscape
Mentor: Hanna Hölling (CH/UK)

Since every landscape can be subsumed under scientific, artistic or cultural and historical points of view, how to provide a meaningful conceptualization of landscape, and art in the landscape? The concept of landscape, both in general and in the context of the visual arts, has undergone a great transformation. Our current conceptions of landscape are still strongly influenced by Romantic ideas which combined the sublime with the idyll. In contrast, the geographical concept of landscape is relatively new, a phenomenon of modernity. Today, landscape is understood as the sum of people’s imaginations that cannot be disassociated from affect, memory and experience. In this workshop, we will strive to think landscape, and art in the landscape, through the lens of cultural and critical theories. This module will entail readings, wanderings, self-study and group discussions. Its outputs may entail forms of interpretative texts, films, displays and performances.

 

Saxton_Slides_2020Workshop VII: Rural International
Mentor: Richard Saxton (USA)

New realities of art and the rural environment are explored with reference to collaborative and context-based art practices. International in scope, we’ll look at the rural environment from fringe topic to central in the discussion of contemporary art engaged with our planet. Saxton will use the work of his studio M12 and projects from the US, Sweden, Australia, Bolivia and the Netherlands as case studies. We will also look at rural materials and discuss current trends such as this years “Countryside” exhibition by Rem Koolhaas and Guggenheim Museum, the collected documents of “the Rural” from MIT Press, Documents of Contemporary Art, Whitechapel Gallery.

 

AAA18_Mediation Workshop pictureWorkshop VIII: Mediation in Environmental Art
Mentor: Ella Tetrault (CAN)

Through performance theory, art education and traditional ecological knowledge, this workshop aims to create a working atmosphere that explores environmental narratives through introducing strategies in arts education and performance. New tendencies in Land and Environmental art are explored with reference to collaborative and participatory practices and the notion of co-authorship. We will borrow from, trouble, subvert, or satirize environmental narratives and aesthetics through site-specific research, a process of fictioning and the exploration of counter-narratives to tease out both the progressive and transgressive aspects of land and environmental practices. The individual and collective projects of this workshop could also focus on the more didactic or even explanatory aspects of a participant’s work while at the Alps Art Academy with tools from transformative and deconstructive educational models in mind.

 

bodies as technologies 01Workshop IX: Bodies as Landscapes
Mentor: Lucie Tuma (CH)

Bodies are generated through techniques, not the other way around. What has been claimed as status quo in Media Studies for a long time, is quite applicable to the context of Dance. Techniques such as walking or strolling in a particular environment do not only influence moods and affective regimes, more so are bodies being generated as a result of complex and entangled processes. Landscape. Taking the body as a landscape, as an amalgam of human and non-human processes, we will in investigate the division between nature and culture as a human-made fabrication. Reading historical and contemporary positions from Humanities and Philosophy, we will look for an understanding of human existence in its expansion onto non-human and post-human to realms. Bodies as Landscapes is an exploration both in theory and practice throughout different settings around perception and experience, formatting and processing as well as artistic production and their materials.

Alps Art Academy

Workshops

Facebook Instagramm

Workshops

MODUL 1: In neun verschiedenen Workshops mit unterschiedlichen kontextuellen und medialen Schwerpunkten werden die TeilnehmerInnen durch Mentoren in ihren eigenen Projekten begleitet. Die TeilnehmerInnen erarbeiten ihre Projekte in der Landschaft rund um Tenna. Zudem stehen ein Seminarraum und eine Bibliothek mit umfassender Fachliteratur zur Verfügung. Am Ende der Academy finden eine Präsentation und Reflektion dieser Projekte statt.
Die TeilnehmerInnen haben sich mit einer eigenen Projektidee zu bewerben, anhand der sie für die Akademie ausgewählt einem Mentor/Workshop zugeteilt werden. Im Laufe der Akademie können Mentorate auch bei anderen Mentoren gebucht werden. Zur Auswahl stehen folgende Vertiefungen:

Workshop I: Environmental: Installation & Sculpture
Mentor: Matthias Bildstein (Bildstein / Glatz) (AT)

Das teils hochalpine Safiental mit der rauen Landschaft und der hochtechnischen Besiedelung bietet für unseren Workshop eine kontrastreiche Spielwiese. In kleiner Runde besprechen wir alle Anliegen eurer Arbeit und legen den Fokus ganz auf dein Vorhaben. Ich freue mich auf deine Entdeckungen, Zugänge und auf intensive Sessions. Gemeinsam schieben wir die Kunst vorwärts.

 

Workshop II: In Wood We Trust
Mentor: Gregory Chapuisat (Les Frères Chapuisat) (CH)

Der gute alte Kampf zwischen Kontrolle und Loslassen. Protokolle, empirische Prozesse und glückliche Unfälle. Wie definieren wir unsere Entscheidungen beim Tun?

 

 

IMG_E3165Workshop III: Landscaping: Mapping the research process
Mentor: Sally De Kunst (CH/BE)

In einem Forschungsprozess ermöglicht das Mapping die Zusammenführung thematischer, praktischer, individueller und kollektiver Wissensformen. Das Ziel dieses Workshops ist es, die Elemente der Forschung räumlich aufzubauen, wobei gesammelte und andere Materialien verwendet werden, d.h. sie werden gesetzt, um die möglichen Beziehungen zwischen ihnen hervorzuheben und zu diskutieren. Das Landschaftsmodell ist frei inspiriert von der Actor-Network-Theorie, die unter anderem von Bruno Latour und Michel Callon entwickelt wurde. Dieser soziologische Ansatz berücksichtigt und assoziiert Menschen und “Nichtmenschen” aller Art, sowie Formen des Diskurses.

 

Workshop IV: Hacking Nature
Mentor: Fragmentin (CH)

Wie könnten wir die alpine Naturlandschaft durch die Digitaltechnik anders beobachten, messen und betrachten? Welche neue Ästhetik könnte sich aus der Verbindung dieser spezifischen Bündner Natur mit dem technologischen Durchbruch ergeben?
Mit Hilfe verschiedener Low- und Hightech-Werkzeuge, Sensoren und Software werden die TeilnehmerInnen eingeladen, unterstützt von den drei KünstlerInnen und ProgrammiererInnen von Fragmentin die reiche Naturlandschaft des Safientals zu erforschen und umzuwandeln.
Die Ergebnisse sind frei und können die Form eines Objekts, einer Skulptur, einer Software oder einer Performance annehmen.
Das Künstlertrio wird auch eine „axidraw pen plotter machine“ mitbringen, um den TeilnehmerInnen die Möglichkeit zu geben, Karten und themenbezogene Zeichnungen zu erstellen.

 

aclatobel_gg_lbWorkshop V: Local Context
Mentor: Gabriela Gerber & Lukas Bardill (CH)

Im Fokus steht das Interesse gegenüber dem ländlichen Raum mit seinen geografischen, kulturellen
und sozialen Ausprägungen. Die Kontextualisierung als Voraussetzung für ortsspezifische
Interventionen erfolgt durch Scouting im Gelände, durch Begegnungen mit Menschen und durch das
Kennenlernen gegenwärtiger und vergangener Gegebenheiten.
(Aclatobel, Safiental 2018. Fotografie: Gabriela Gerber & Lukas Bardill.)

 

NASA-Apollo8-Dec24-EarthriseWorkshop VI: Theorizing Landscape
Mentor: Hanna Hölling (CH/UK)

Da jede Landschaft unter wissenschaftlichen, künstlerischen oder kulturhistorischen Gesichtspunkten betrachtet werden kann, stellt sich die Frage, wie ein sinnvolles Konzept von Landschaft und Kunst innerhalb der Landschaft aufgestellt werden kann. Der Begriff der Landschaft, sowohl im Allgemeinen als auch im Kontext der bildenden Kunst, hat einen großen Wandel erfahren. Unsere heutigen Vorstellungen von Landschaft sind immer noch stark von romantischen Ideen geprägt, die das Erhabene mit der Idylle verbinden. Im Gegensatz dazu ist der geographische Begriff der Landschaft relativ neu und ein Phänomen der Moderne. Heute wird Landschaft als die Summe all der Vorstellungen der Menschen verstanden, welche nicht von Affekt, Erinnerung und Erfahrung getrennt werden können. In diesem Workshop werden wir Landschaft und ‚Kunst in der Landschaft‘ durch kulturelle und kritische Theorien denken. Dieser Workshop wird Lesungen, Wanderungen, Selbststudium und Gruppendiskussionen umfassen. Die Ergebnisse können Formen von interpretierenden Texten, Filmen, Ausstellungen und Performances umfassen.

 

Saxton_Slides_2020Workshop VII: Rural International
Mentor: Richard Saxton (USA)

Neue Realitäten der Kunst und der ländlichen Umgebung werden unter Bezugnahme auf kollaborative und kontextbezogene Kunstpraktiken erforscht. Auf internationaler Ebene werden wir die ländliche Umgebung vom Randthema bis zum zentralen Thema in der Diskussion über zeitgenössische Kunst, die sich mit unserem Planeten beschäftigt, betrachten. Saxton wird die Arbeit seines Studio M12 und Projekte in den USA, Schweden, Australien, Bolivien und den Niederlanden als Fallstudien verwenden. Es werden darüberhinaus Materialien aus dem ländlichen Raum betrachten sowie aktuelle Trends diskutieren, wie etwa die diesjährige Ausstellung “Countryside” von Rem Koolhaas und dem Guggenheim Museum, oder die gesammelten Dokumente der “Rural”-Publikation (MIT Press, Documents of Contemporary Art, Whitechapel Gallery).

 

AAA18_Mediation Workshop pictureWorkshop VIII: Mediation in Environmental Art
Mentor: Ella Tetrault (CAN)

Mit Hilfe von Performancetheorie, Kunstpädagogik und traditionellem ökologischem Wissen soll in diesem Workshop eine Arbeitsatmosphäre geschaffen werden, in der Umweltnarrativen durch die Einführung von Strategien in der Kunsterziehung und -performance erforscht werden. Neue Tendenzen in der Land and Environmental Art werden in Bezug auf kollaborative und partizipatorische Praktiken und den Begriff der Ko-Autorenschaft untersucht. Durch ortsspezifische Recherchen, einen Prozess der Fiktion und der Erforschung von Gegenentwürfen werden entlehnt, um Umweltnarrativen und -ästhetik zu hinterfragen, zu untergraben oder zu persiflieren, um sowohl die progressiven als auch die transgressiven Aspekte von Land- und Umweltpraktiken hervorzuheben. Die individuellen und gemeinschaftlichen Projekte dieses Workshops könnten sich auch auf die eher didaktischen oder sogar erklärenden Aspekte der Arbeit einer/s Teilnehmerin/s während ihres/seines Aufenthaltes an der Alps Art Academy konzentrieren, wobei die Mittel von transformativen und dekonstruktiven Bildungsmodellen im Vordergrund stehen.

 

bodies as technologies 01Workshop IX: Bodies as Landscapes
Mentor: Lucie Tuma (CH)

Körper werden durch Techniken hervorgebracht, nicht umgekehrt. Was in den Medienwissenschaften längst selbstverständlich ist, ergibt im Zusammenhang mit Tanz umso mehr Sinn. Techniken des Gehens oder Spazierens in einer jeweiligen Umgebung prägen nicht nur Stimmungen und Eindrücke, sondern bringen diese Körper und ihre Körperlichkeit in komplex verschränkten Prozessen erst hervor. Landschaft. Ausgehend vom Körper als Landschaft, als Amalgam menschlicher und nicht-menschlicher Prozesse, wird die Trennung von Natur und Kultur als menschliche Fabrikation untersucht. Wir werden ältere und zeitgenössische Positionen der Humanwissenschaften und der Philosophie auf die nicht-menschliche und post-humane Erweiterung menschlicher Existenzweisen hin lesen. In unterschiedlichen Settings von Praxis und Theorie beschäftigen wir uns mit Körpern als Technologien im Resonanzraum von Wahrnehmung und Erfahrung, Format und Prozess sowie künstlerischer Produktion und Material.