Alps Art Academy

Symposium

Facebook Instagramm

Symposium

MODULE 3: Maintaining the established tradition, the 2018 edition of the Alps Art Academy will commence with a two-day symposium titled “New Tendencies in Land and Environmental Art: Horizontal – Vertical”. The symposium will take place on the first weekend of the Academy, 30th of June-1st of July 2018. During this symposium, critical attention will be paid to the notion of the (re)orientation of Land Art, understood both literally and metaphorically.

The canonical Land Art of the late 1960s and early 1970s, especially originating in the American South-West, was dominated by vast spaces aligned with the horizontal orientation of the landscape. “The horizontal” became the most significant feature, if not an aesthetic principle, of this art form. If the environment in which art is created dictates its characteristics, what if this state of affairs radically changes? The recent tendencies from the Alpine region evidence that, increasingly, Land Art has been dealing with a reorientation. This reorientation signifies a shift from the familiar horizontal flatness, or an intervention therein, to a peculiar verticality that changes our perceptions, not only of what Land art is or might be, but also of the landscape in which it takes place.

Our symposium will gather scholars, curators, mediators and artists of the Alps Art Academy and guests to discuss whether, and how, the new tendencies, including the artworks, emerged as a result of the Alps Art Academy and Art Safiental can contribute to such reorientation.

Full program will be advertised in March. Confirmed speakers include:
Atelier für Sonderaufgaben (CH)
Giovanni Carmine (CH)
DIG Collective 
(UK)
Luciano Fasciati (CH)
William L. Fox (US)
Johannes M. Hedinger (CH)
Hanna Hölling (UK)
Sibylle Omlin (CH)
Steve Rowell (US)
Emily Eliza Scott (CH/US)
Chris Taylor (US)

This event is public and addressed to a wide audience. Fees for external participants:
Day 1: 6 Lectures + discussion, documentation, lunch, dinner: 80.- CHF
Day 2: 6 Lectures + discussion, documents, lunch: 60.- CHF
Day 1+2: 120.- CHF
Residents of the Safiental only pay for the food; everything is included for academy participants.

 

Academy027-e1469739412460

Alps Art Academy

Symposium

Facebook Instagramm

Symposium

MODUL 3: Die Alps Art Academy wird mit einer zweitägigen Tagung mit dem Titel “New Tendencies in Land and Environmental Art: Horizontal – Vertical” beginnen. Sie findet am ersten Wochenende der Akademie, am 30. Juni / 1. Juli 2018 statt. Die Tagung wird sich insbesondere mit der (Neu)orientierung der Land Art, literarisch wie metaphorisch, beschäftigen. 

Die kanonische Land Art der später 1960er und frühen 1970er Jahre, insbesondere jene des amerikanischen Südwesten, wurde von weiten Räumen dominiert, die auf die horizoontale Auseichtung der Landschaft ausgerichtet war. “Die Horizontale” wurde zum wichtigsten, wenn nicht gar ästhetisches Prinzip dieser Kunstform. Wenn das Umfeld, in dem Kunst geschaffen wird, ihre Eigenschaft mitformt, was passiert dann, wenn sich dieser Zustand radikal ändert? Die jüngsten Tendenzen aus den alpinen Regionen zeigen, dass sich Land Art zunehmend mit einer Neuorientierung beschäftigt. Diese Neuorientierung bedeutet eine Verschiebung von der gewohnten horizontalen Flachheit oder einem Eingriff darin zu einer eigentümlichen Vertikalität, die nicht nur unsere Wahrnehmung verändert, was Land Art ist oder sein könnte, sonder auch von der Landschaft, in der sie stattfindet.

Unser Symposium versammelt Forscher, Kuratoren, Vermittler und Künstrler der Alps Art Academy und Gäste, um zu diskutieren, ob und wie die neuen Tendenzen, einschliesslich der Kunstwerke die durch die Alps Art Academy und Art Safiental entstanden sind, zu einer solchen Neuorientierung beitragen können.

Das detaillierte Symposiumsprogramm wird im März veröffentlicht. Bisher bestätigte SprecherInnen:
Atelier für Sonderaufgaben (CH)
Giovanni Carmine 
(CH)
DIG Collective (UK)
Luciano Fasciati (CH)
William L. Fox (US)
Johannes M. Hedinger (CH)
Hanna Hölling (UK)
Sibylle Omlin (CH)
Steve Rowell (US)
Emily Eliza Scott (CH/US)
Chris Taylor (US)

Die Veranstaltung ist öffentlich und an ein breites Publikum gerichtet. Kosten für Externe:
Tag 1: 6 Vorträge + Diskussion, Unterlagen, Mittagessen, Nachtessen: 80.- CHF
Tag 2: 6 Vorträge + Diskussion, Unterlagen, Mittagessen: 60.- CHF
Tag 1+2: 120.- CHF
Bewohner der Gemeinde Safiental zahlen nur das Essen; für Akdademieteilnehmer ist alles inklusive.

 

Academy027-e1469739412460